April 11, 2011

  • Common Sense

    Sunny Jim's uncle is scheduled for surgery in about a month. It's necessary and it will help him, but they have to go in through his nose. It's very possible that when it's over, it may have altered his sense of smell - if he has one at all. 

    In our collection of senses, sight and sound are the big players. They guide us and keep us safe; without one or the other we have to make drastic changes in the way we live our lives. Indeed, we have to relearn the world completely - and publicly, since there is no way to hide the loss from those who still have these senses intact. But losing your sense of smell is a much more subtle deprivation. You'll still be able to live your life as though nothing has happened. Maybe you'll have to pay more attention to the expiration date on dairy, or be more conscientious about taking out the garbage. It would probably be wise to cook on a lower heat and put on extra deodorant. But you'll still go to work and run your errands and everything will be the same.

    Only flatter.

    Right now I'm sitting in my den. I don't really smell anything - but what if I really didn't?

    There is a cup of coffee in front of me, between my forearms as I type. Making it was, as it always is, an exercise in anticipation: the sharp, dark, rich smell of the grounds and the fragrant steam rising to meet me as I pour the first cup. The carafe always dribbles a little and there is a hiss and the smell of burnt coffee when I put it back on the hotplate. Now the contents of my cup are lukewarm, but even though I can't pick out the smell anymore, I know it's there. 

    The desk I'm working on is a big, hardwood thing. I bought it in my first year of university for $20 and without much thought. It was what I could afford. It has moved with me to two cities and six apartments and it gets compliments from everyone. The outside of it has absorbed the smells of everywhere it's been - incense, pets, spilled wine and food. But when I open the drawers (as I do every morning to get my glasses or a pen) it still smells exactly as it did the day I brought it home - like wood and ink and xerox copies. (Do you remember xerox? God, what a heavenly smell.)

    I am flanked by a giant bookcase and a whack of records; both exude the musty smell of libraries and garage sales - as does the carpet beneath me, which was in Sunny Jim's mother's basement for a few years. The cat, currently draped across the seat of a chair like a discarded sweater, leaves his warm, animal scent all over the house. My cedar chest has the inside of a freshly sharpened pencil and the pile of boots at the door are tangy leather and sweat. The air around me is Morning Me: warm skin, sleep, and yesterday's shampoo as my braids come undone. The air outside is spring rain and thawing ground and though I won't really pay attention until I step outside to meet it, it creeps in around our windows and doors.

    And all of these things just are - until they are not.

    I have started to make a list of things that, if I were in this man's position, I would want to smell :

    top soil
    peaches
    the perfumes my mother wore when I was little (Jovan, 4711)
    Sunny Jim's pillow
    lilies
    cucumber
    a stable
    cumin
    permanent markers
    cut grass
    cooked red cabbage with cloves
    the lake
    my favourite perfume (24 Fauberg)
    a perfume counter in a department store 
    road tar
    pork roast
    the cat
    rosemary
    cigarette smoke
    a Christmas tree
    an old book
    a thunderstorm
    a lumberyard
    garden roses
    my father's shirts
    gasoline
     

    What have I forgotten?
    g.

     

Comments (10)

  • a list too long to enumerate.

    smell would be hard to lose...though its loss would reduce the occurrence of mild to moderate nostalgia. that'd have its "good point" list.

  • @complicatedlight - Of course the list is too long - the minute I hit "post" I already knew I forgot fresh bread. But I'm curious about what's on other people's lists. What's on YOUR list, Phil?

  • when pedaling to work, as today, i pass behind the caribou coffee company roasting plant; an entire warehouse-size building entirely devoted to toasting up coffee beans. need i say more?

    also, to quote a famous ex-beatle - i just can't get enough of that sweet stuff my little lady gets behind.

    and clover.

    and old science buildings.

    after that it starts going downhill.

  • Lilacs
    Peppermint tea
    Fresh bread
    Chocolate chip cookies
    Spring mornings
    That freshly-showered smell
    Pine needles
    Cinnamon
    Campfire smoke

    And so on.

    h.

  • @sixacross - And THAT is why this question is interesting. I could go my whole life never again smelling peppermint (or any kind of) tea and be totally okay with it - and while I would never go out of my way to avoid chocolate chip cookies, I don't know I've ever craved that smell. But oh, how I'd miss lilacs!

  • @edithshead - --I worked with a girl from Russia this summer who told me that, when she was growing up, she and her friends used to search lilac bushes for flowers with 5 petals, because the 5-petal ones are lucky, but they're only lucky if you eat the flower after you find it. (Just the little, individual flower, not the whole huge bundle of them.) They're not that hard to find, actually, once you start looking. But I didn't ever eat any.

    Also, lemon. I would miss smelling lemon.

  • Sex...
    The smell of really hot good sex.

    (If anything that will make you pause...)
    xox

  • @idolatrieartist - Heh, Jane. I miss you! And you know, while I wouldn't have put this on my list, when I try to imagine sex without any smell at all, it just seems creepy...

  • @edithshead - 

    Ha! I knew you would "get this" and not be weirded out. BTW-do you have a Twitter account? Just wondering...would LOVE it if you did-think it would be fun to see what your day was like. (I just made a protect one to be able to talk without worry "JanesAdventures" follow me it you are into that sort of thing...

    Miss you too...
    Shall I come up for a visit? Ha! I miss it up there-SO SO GREAT!
    (Love your daily writing! I read all the time-Keep it going!!! I NEED IT!)
    xox
    j a n e

  • @idolatrieartist - I don't have a twitter, but I will keep up with yours if you give me a place to find it. Unless - since it's protected, does that mean I have to sign up? Please DO COME VISIT and bring lovely T! Just give us another two months to get the house in better order. This summer? x.g.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment