Month: December 2010

  • Another morning, another few hours of procrastination.


    illustration by Raphael Vicenzi

    I ought to be working one of the two pieces I've committed to writing - deadlines loom. Instead, I'm posting pictures on the internet... Because, you know, the internet needs more pictures.

    I'm also listening to the radio. A city counsellor is demanding an apology for an editorial discussing the perception that some universities are "too Asian."  (This was, in fact, the original title of the article, though it was ultimately renamed after numerous complaints.) This debate has been raging (inasmuch as Canadians are capable of that) since the article was published in early November. I finally went to read the thing and, as always, I am completely mystified. As far as I can tell, the most offensive thing about this piece is the editing: 

    "['Too Asian' is] a term being used in some U.S. academic circles to describe a phenomenon that’s become such a cause for concern to university admissions officers and high school guidance counsellors that several elite universities to the south have faced scandals in recent years over limiting Asian applicants and keeping the numbers of white students artificially high."

    Seriously. That sentence is too long - and terrible

    Granted, I'm not part of a visible minority - maybe I'm missing something. What I'm seeing is a story about how people who work harder for good grades do better than people who don't. Secondarily, it seems to suggest that rather than push their own kids to work harder and do better, Caucasian parents and administrators would rather skew admittance stats so said kids don't feel dumb (or look lazy).

    Really, the ones who ought to be insulted are the kids whose parents underestimate their ability to compete on a level field. Viva la meritocracy, and all that. I mean, in the early days of affirmative action, wasn't that the argument those in power held highest?

    I openly admit - though it may be I am a racially-entitled brute and, believe me, I am willing to be schooled on this - I don't see how any of it is insulting to Asians. Yet the above-mentioned counsellor thinks an apology is due. As he righteously points out, "feelings have been hurt." 

    And in all of this, that is the part I find most insulting. Demand an apology because you have been willfully humiliated, injured, or maligned. If that's the case then, by all means, claim a good, hearty sorry - but for heaven's sakes, let's not start talking about feelings. The sheer fact of having them does not entitle you to exist in a world untouched by reason. And your willingness to inflict them on everyone around you? It's infantile. 

    In fact, I think I demand an apology. I demand an apology from you, dear counsellor, for pretending it is in any way acceptable for a grown-up to drag their feelings into a public arena. I demand an apology for your suggesting that anyone else is responsible for some disruption in the drift of your emotional ether. And finally, I demand an apology for giving the media one more excuse to avoid tricky issues for fear they will make your poor, sensitive heart sniffle. If you don't like what they have to say, fight them with logic. Believe it or not, it's more compelling. At least it ought to be.

    Hey - it's New Year's eve.
    g.

     

     

     

     

  • Christmas has come and gone, along with my excuses not to post.


    illustration by coco for Balenciaga

    I thought starting with a new blog would be simpler - that I'd be as excited to post as I was when I started my first one. Then, I couldn't get up early enough to get my thoughts down. I had to stop myself from posting twice or three times a day. 

    But I was different then, too. 

    I didn't know yet that my blog life and my real life would eventually align - I'd be hampered by the same need for control. I had started my blog as a way to escape my self-imposed constraints only to find myself as cautious as ever. Don't post anything you can't take back. We are who we are, I guess. But it does become exhausting to keep silent in two forums. Maybe that's why I love my tumblr so much. I can holler out my truths and desires and failures and they are still - mostly - my own.

    So here I am again, determined to keep writing. I will tip-tap-type my way out of the relapse of obsessions that tie my tongue and learn how to deflect with a little grace.

    g.

     

     


  • illustration by George Petty

    For the last three days I've been getting up at 5 AM to try and finish whatever needs to get done. That way, the moment my Christmas officially begins (this evening) to the day if officially ends (January 2, 2011) I won't need to do a single solitary thing except exactly what pleases me. 

    I am so tired I'm actually a bit nauseated, but oh! It's going to be worth it! My apartment is clean, my cookies are baked and every gift is wrapped-and-bowed within an inch of its life. Now I just have to clean and wrap me, and it'll be nothing but festive sloth till the end of the calendar year.

    Merry Hanukkah-Christmas-or-Whatever-Holiday-Applies, every one!
    x.g. 

     

     


  • illustration by Bobby Hillson, 1965

     

     

     


  • Yves Saint Laurent for the Ballet Russes, 1976

    That is all.

     


  • illustration by Pieter ‘t Hoen (aka Piet-Paris)

    "However, few users seemed capable of producing the the precise line-up of cards and codes demanded by the computers, which responded to the slightest infraction with sudden and intemperate error messages - making one long for a return of the surliest of humans, from whom there always remains at least a theoretical possibility of understanding and forgiveness."

    from A Week at the Airport by Alain de Botton

    But I would add that while a computer will surely change its "mind" if you do manage to come up with the right information, humans give no such guarantee.

    I went to visit my father and got into a terrible fight with my sister about the impending holiday. We snapped and snarled at each other for three hours; I at what I perceive as her New Age abdication of responsibility and she at my tendency to "rigid Christian morality." I was livid.

    Too bad she's right. Despite a lifetime of self-examination, I still drift towards stoicism, silently accepting my circumstance without regard to justice or entitlement. Neither rain nor sleet nor ulcer nor panic attack will convince me I'm not obligated to carry some burden. I mock people who use the word "deserve." And I'm so consumed by fear of my own weakness, emotional martyrdom is the only thing that keeps me from being utterly despicable. (Proving you can be both dedicated to impossible codes of conduct and self-aware.)

    She, on the other hand, is much more inclined to ideas of journey and discovery. There are no Right or Wrong choices - rather one can "only do what they can do" and others have an obligation to empathize. In her mind, unhappiness is not a human condition but a problem to solve. Where I see eccentricity and a fact to work around, she sees disorder and the possibility of change. 

    We aren't zealots, understand, and most of the time we get along very nicely - but our pet beliefs are not without teeth.

    And now I am home again, with only four days to Christmas Eve. Philosophy holds little sway over crinkly paper and gingerbread. 
    g. 

     

    Traditional German Red Cabbage

    In a 4 quart pot, melt enough butter to sautee:
    3 medium apples, peeled and sliced
    1/2 onion, chopped

    Add:
    1 head shredded red cabbage
    1 c red wine
    4-6 whole cloves (how much do you like cloves?)
    2 bay leaves
    1/4 c brown sugar
    1/4 c vinegar

    Have ready:
    flour or cornstarch

    • Simmer for one hour
    • To thicken, sprinkle with flour (or mix a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch with some water) and stir rapidly to blend. don't start with too much, though, and add more as needed. Nothing worse than goopy cabbage.
    • Don't eat the bay leaves - or the cloves for that matter.

     

     

     

  • I woke up extra early this morning.


    artist unknown

    It's one of the things I'll miss about this place and living alone. I like getting up at 6 (sometimes before) and puttering around my living space; making coffee, making the bed. Oddly, it's the time of day I get the most done. I write or clean or finish projects. I organize and plan. This morning I wrapped gifts for the girls at work, painting their names across each package in bright red poster paint. Last night I had planned to leave the little boxes on their desks - no cards, no wrapping. But at 6 AM that just didn't seem good enough. 

    In the new place, the bedroom door shuts tight. I'll be able to get up early and leave C to his dreams. (It will be much better than it is now, having to skulk around like a thief.) But there is a wonderful freedom in unchecked mornings, the coffee maker spitting and gurgling, all the lights and the radio on. I remember being in high school hating the way mom was up at dawn, hating her cheerfulness at those absurd hours. My teenage brain wanted more sleep - and less cheerfulness in general. Now I can't imagine sleeping in. I try, sometimes; C likes to have a lazy morning and I don't want to be jerk. After about half an hour I'm fidgeting, full of unspent energy. If I'm in bed past 8:30 I feel like I've wasted half my day.

    Of course, I'm usually ready for a nap by noon...
    And anything that isn't done by 2 PM probably isn't gonna get that way.
    g.

     

    Rumballs

    BOIL (for five minutes)
    1/2 c water
    2 oz semi-sweet chocolate
    1 c sugar

    COOL (enough to handle comfortably) AND ADD
    3 c graham crumbs
    1/2 c walnuts
    1/2 c raisins
    1/4 c light rum

    HAVE READY
    about 1.5 c icing sugar and 1/2 c cocoa, mixed in a bowl 
    • Once everything is mixed, roll into balls about 1 to 1.5"
    • Coat in the sugar and cocoa mix 
    • When they are completely cool, pack into an airtight container and store in cool dry place. The longer in advance you can make these, the better they are (as with most recipes involving liquor).
    • The walnuts and raisins are suggestions for amounts. If you hate one or the other, just double the one you like, or make two kinds - whatever. The thing about dried fruit is that it tends to hold liquor really well. If you hate raisins, think about using dried cherries (for a Black Forest version) or chopped, dried apricots. 
    I always do better with these when I roll them still warm. The more the mixture cools, the crumblier it gets. If the mixture is too dry, add a touch more rum. The finished product is going to be quite dense so don't make them too big - THE BALLS - but don't worry about over-handling THE BALLS either. 

    Yes, yes. Compose yourself, people.


    rumballs as seen by Juergen Teller. ha.

     

  • Dammit.


    illustration by Jean Phillippe Delhomme

    Just dammit. I'm happy enough - I'm getting the things I want. Work is okay and I've finally managed to get up a little earlier and have time to myself. So why is filling this stupid page so hard?

     

     

    Russian Tea Cookies

    preheat oven to 325° F

    BLEND:
    1 c butter (room temperature, salted)
    1/2 c confectioner's/icing sugar 
    2 tsp vanilla extract

    ADD:
    (with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon - no electric mixers)
    2 c flour
    1/4 tsp salt

    HAVE READY:
    jam, preserves, or nuts according to your taste
    try to use a variety of colours and textures 

    • Roll dough into balls about 1.5' in diameter and place on cookie sheet. 
    • The original recipe says to dent the tops of each ball with the back of a spoon, but I prefer to use something that leaves a more defined hollow (the top of a small bottle or even your thumb).
    • Fill the hollow of each cookie with preserves or nuts (or both). I especially like the flavour of seedless raspberry jam or pear jam, or chopped pecans with a little brown sugar. The deeper depression (yes yes, very funny) will help keep the jam from bubbling out during baking. Be careful not to overfill.
    • Bake 15-20 mins, until the cookies are a light golden brown.
    • Let cool thoroughly (that jam is sticky). They suggest dusting these with icing sugar before serving and it looks nice, but they're already pretty sweet, so that's your call.

    I got this recipe from the Mrs. Fields Best Cookie Book Ever! (a small but excellent collection). It's also similar to one my mom had for Thumbprint Cookies. The beauty of it is that it uses minimal, simple ingredients, the dough is easy to handle, and the finished product looks fancy. It makes a pretty contribution to holiday parties and potlucks and things, and people get all stoked and think you're a genius.

     

  • I boxed four dozen cookies before 7 AM.


    Parisian street art by Monsieur Qui

    It must be Christmas. It's strange, though, despite the snow and the smell of baking, I'm not at all in the spirit of the thing. Maybe it will come. 

    It looks like my father will continue his Selective Holiday Embargo. (He's declined to attend half our Christmases since mom died.) The chance he'll participate this year are slim. My sister and brother-in-law are offering to host a lunch on Boxing Day, but they don't seem terribly excited about it. My other sister is hemming and hawing and suggesting we celebrate in January and I am in my apartment making cookies by rote. I had to lay out the whole deposit for our new apartment so I'm not attacking the season with my usual enthusiasm either. It's hard to be broke at the holidays.

    But, as with anything attached to linear time, Christmas will come whether I'm ready for it or not. The only thing to do is keep mixing butter and sugar, hoping mind follows body.

    I wish I was in Paris.
    g.

     

    Old South Shortbread
    (aka: Mom's Favourites)

    preheat oven to 375° F

    BLEND
    1 c butter (room temp, unsalted)
    4 tbsp castor/fruit sugar*
    2 tsp vanilla extract (the good stuff - no fakes) 

    ADD: 
    (with rubber spatula or wooden spoon - no electric mixers)

    2 c flour
    2 c crushed walnuts

    HAVE READY:
    About 2 c icing/confectioner's sugar in a bowl 

    • Once it's mostly mixed with your spoon, pat together with your hands. As with most shortbreads, it's good not to overhandle. 
    • Roll dough into balls in your hands (about 1.5 - 2") and, when you put them down on the cookie sheet, don't flatten them completely. The cookies should be small and quite thick.
    • BAKE 15 to 20 MINS - they can have a touch of light brown around the edges
    • When they come out of the oven - AS SOON as they come out of the oven - roll them in the icing sugar so they are well coated. This is definitely going to burn the tips of your fingers but, if you don't do it while they're really hot, they won't be nearly as good.
    • Let cool completely, then pack into containers with a sheet of waxed paper b/t each layer. 

    *If you don't have this, regular white sugar is absolutely okay. The thing about castor or fruit sugar is that it is super-duper fine and adds an extra delicacy to the texture of shortbreads. But shit is not going to fall apart without it. Let's not get crazy, here.


  • What I don't know about fashion illustration is a lot.


    illustration by coco

    I spent my first hour this morning bouncing around the internet looking for images. I'm woefully ignorant when it comes to this stuff, so it's always an adventure. I'm especially pleased with my find above (though a lot of it seems more collage than illustration). Her work is a balance of chaos and restraint. In some ways it reminds me of my editor and I; I'm all restraint and she's all chaos and, between us, we often produce something better than either one.

    I picked up my new old cabinet yesterday. It needs a little more work than I thought; the doors are loose and the glass panel knocks around a bit. Whatever - I love it. There's another piece there now, a small wardrobe. C says it's "cheap" but I'm not so sure. In any case, I feel like it would be handy the apartment door to hang coats and stash boots so our outside things don't turn into an unruly pile of crap. I'll have to work on him a little today. I've also begun looking for sofas. I have a feeling anything second hand will have to come from outside the city. Here, it seems anything more than five years old is immediately dubbed "vintage" and priced at much more than it's worth. Things like that Deco piece don't appear for the asking.

    Or should I say, "don't grow on trees?"

    I have to exorcise the cliches out of my work. All of them. I could get away with it for a while, plead immaturity as a writer - not any more. I know better. The problem is that sometimes, in the moment, it sounds okay and I convince myself that This One Time it's necessary or appropriate or whatever. But inevitably, when I go back and reread, those are the phrases that make me cringe.

    My resolution for 2011 is to stop making myself cringe.
    g.