April 16, 2011


  • a fast picture snapped at the store
    that red chiffon detail – swoon 

    My best friend showed up at my office at 3:42. “Get your stuff. Let’s go.” I’d planned to work until about 6:00 pm, but she was adamant. I went to my manager’s office to see how she felt about it. Her response? “It’s Friday. Bye.” So I turned off my computer and we left, and spent the next three hours going from one vintage store to the next, looking for a dress in which I might like to get married.

    I decided from the start that I didn’t want a traditional floor-length meringue, but just something short and elegant, like a vintage day suit or dress. In my head I picture a soft, grey brushed cotton wiggle dress, but when you’re shopping second-hand, you can’t really be too specific. I’m keeping the door of inspiration wide open.

    On that note, I tried on this red satin cocktail dress that was absurdly beautiful. How could a thing so modest be so very, very sexy? One of the only restrictions I’d given myself was that I didn’t want to get married in white, black or red (I feel like the last is too brazen for me), but for that dress I started to think I could change my mind. It was a bit big, though. Alterations on something so structurally detailed are bound to run a couple of hundred. And red satin might be a tough thing to pull off in a day ceremony. But good lord. 

    Otherwise, no luck. 

    Today is internship interviews all day. Every person who applies has to fill out a list of questions to submit along with their resumes and various work samples. I was amazed and flattered to read several applicants had listed my own columns as their favourites in the publication. It gave me a strange thrill to see myself referred to by last name – just like a real writer. 

    Good thing they can’t see this. Heh.
    g. 

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *